“Duende”

This week’s Indie Ink Challenge comes from Supermaren. The challenge: go to the Shops at Columbus Circle, take a picture of a bronze sculpture, and write a piece about it.

The sculptures are actually Dali, which I had seen a few weeks ago. Since I also wanted to work on a rondeau, I decided to write one inspired by the Dalinian Dancer. My  picture doesn’t do the sculpture justice, but it symbolizes the intensity and passion of dance in general and of course flamenco specifically.

Some quick words on the rondeau. It is a poem comprised of three stanzas with the following scheme:

a/a/b/b/a
a/a/b/refrain
a/a/b/b/a/refrain (the first word or phrase of the poem becomes the refrain).

I think I will continue to work on this poem. Thoughts and feedback are always appreciated! And you can check out Sir’s response to my challenge here.

***

Duende

For every step on the wooden stage, I must let all lay bare,
But I sometimes hesitate when I find that he is there,
When the incessant cries of the guitar and violin
Mercilessly drag out the truth for all to see my sin:
That he remains in me, and I am unwilling to share.

His red flower still gathers the crinkles in my hair,
Sliding down with each ruffle that I whisk through the air.
My body remembers the caress of his fingertips on my skin
For on the stage there is no end to our love affair.

I raise my heart to the heavens and begin my prayer:
Floreos fervently flick away remnants of my despair,
I stomp and twist to release the demon deep within,
Hear the rain of hair pins smatter the floor as I spin
Only to open my eyes and see that he is everywhere,
For on the stage there is no end to our love affair.

About MelissaR

Lover of words and movement. View all posts by MelissaR

7 responses to ““Duende”

  • supermaren

    I love this statue. And it’s wonderful that you chose to go with a rondeau. (Frankly, I’m always so scared of the strict structure of a lot of poetry, I usually stay away from trying to write it!) You’ve got a great start there.

  • K

    First of all, I love Dali and think the rondeau structure you chose is perfect for the artist. Second, this is a beautiful sculpture evoking such movement and fluidity, vintage Dali. Your words followed this theme as well and made for a good paring of imagery. Finally, I love the line “for on the stage there is no end to our love affair.” How true this is! Great response to the challenge Melissa.

  • Lazidaisical

    So pretty. I totally understand your inspiration here. Love Dali; and my cousins and I used to dance flamenco when we were children. The passion, exuberance, and visual stimulation of it makes people crazy about it. Makes them live, breath, and make love to it. Our instructor was a complete, fanatical lunatic and I dropped out of the classes once I’d done enough dancing to earn my very own for-keeps dress (as opposed to the ones they loaned us); because that’s really the only reason I joined to begin with!

    Anyway, beautiful poem! 🙂

  • Marian

    the rain of the hairpins smattering to the floor.
    aaaahhhhhhh that is all.

  • Heather S.

    so beautiful, love it!! can totally feel the dancing, amazing.

Leave a Reply

